Australian Of The Year Selection Board

Views: 138

This is some of the board of the selection committee for the Australian of the year award. Ever wonder why Adam Goodes got that award? This may explain it a bit.

Selection of Australian of the Year

Selection of Australian of the Year is made by the Board of the National Australia Day Council.

There have been some truly outstanding recipients of the Australian of the Year awards in previous years. They have more than adequately satisfied the criteria set down by the selection committee:

  • Demonstrated excellence in their field
  • Significant contribution to the Australian community and nation
  • An inspirational role model for the Australian community
  • The Local Hero award acknowledges a significant contribution at local community level

Many people are now asking how a divisive person like Adam Goodes could achieve such an award.

It has a lot to do with the selection criteria and the make-up of the selection committee, both of which reflect the creeping political correctness and group think that is slowly enveloping us all.

For example, included in the selection criteria is the following:

In ensuring that the Australian of the Year Awards recipients are representative of our diverse nation consideration may be given to:

Remote, regional, city locations (particularly in relation to the Local Hero Award)
Field of endeavour

Board of the National Australia Day Council

Possibly to give it credibility, the Board is chaired by Adam Gilchrist, a great Australian who has made a significant contribution to national pride.

However, as well as the Deputy-Chairman, at least three of the eight Directors on the Board can be seen to be politically correct appointments with their own special agendas.

Jason Glanville

Jason Glanville
Jason Glanville

Chief Executive Officer, National Centre of Indigenous Excellence
Notwithstanding his European features, Jason Glanville identifies as Aboriginal as a Wiradjuri man from south-western NSW. Prior to joining the NCIE as Chief Executive Officer, he was Director of Programs and Strategy at Reconciliation Australia and was a founder of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples.

He is the Co-Chair of the Australian Indigenous Governance Institute and is on the boards of Reconciliation Australia, the Australia Indigenous Leadership Centre and CarriageWorks. He is also a Trustee of the Australian Museum, a member of the editorial board for the Journal of Indigenous Policy, a member of the Museum of Contemporary Art’s Indigenous Advisory Panel and is a member of the University of Technology’s Vice Chancellor’s Indigenous Advisory Committee.


Shelley Reys

Shelley Reys
Shelley Reys


Vice-Chairman of the National Australia Day Council

Shelley Reys identifies as an Aboriginal woman of the Djiribul people.

She is Managing Director of Arrilla – Indigenous Consultants and Services, a private firm which provides services and products that assist Indigenous Australians and the wider community to work more effectively together.

She is also on the board of Reconciliation Australia and Director of Indigenous Film Services.



Professor Samina Yasmeen

Professor Samina Yasmeen
Professor Samina Yasmeen




Director, Centre for Muslim States and Societies

Professor Samina Yasmeen is Director of the Centre for Muslim States and Societies, and lectures in Political Science and International Relations at the University of Western Australia (UWA), Perth.






Dr Tim Soutphommasane

Dr Tim Soutphommasane
Dr Tim Soutphommasane

Tim Soutphommasane is an Australian political philosopher, writer and public official. He is currently Australia’s Race Discrimination Commissioner at the Australian Human Rights Commission. What better person to help select the divisive Adam Goodes as Australian of the Year

Soutphommasane has excellent left-wing credentials, having joined the Australian Labor Party in 1998, aged 15. He later worked on the speech writing staff of then New South Wales Premier Bob Carr, and in late 2007 he returned from Oxford to work in the office of Kevin Rudd during that year’s federal election campaign, although he claims he is no longer a member of the Labor Party.

Soutphommasane constantly rails against racism and bigotry, although he manifests bigotry in his own actions and comments.

Commenting on the proposed repeal of Section 18c of the divisive Racial Discrimination Act, he said this:

‚Äú‚Ķ may unleash a darker, even violent, side of our humanity which revels in the humiliation of the vulnerable‚ÄĚ.

Looking at this line-up, it is perhaps unsurprising that more deserving and qualified applicants were overlooked in favour of the politically correct appointment of Adam Goodes as Australian of the Year.

The image below is from the Australian of the Year website.

In the minds of the selection panel, “anti-racism activist” ranks above such selection criteria as contributions to the nation and making people proud to be Australian.

The cultural Marxists have compromised the integrity of the selection panel.

It is time some of the Board members were replaced with independent persons who will select the Australian of the Year for real contributions to the Australian community without regard to special groups, ethnic backgrounds or divisive activist causes.


You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *